Facebook hoaxes return, don’t fall for it again

Facebook
Facebook

There are a lot of posts updated on your Facebook Feed that you could care less about; baby photos, chain letters, memes from 2004, etc. But there is one that you should care even less about, regardless of what the content illustrates.
 
By now, your Facebook News Feed is littered with paragraph-long statuses regarding privacy. Two privacy hoaxes, which have been circulating for years on the social media platform, have reemerged in the last week.
 
These should look familiar to you by now if you’ve been on Facebook for a while:
 

As of September 28th , 2015 at 10:50p.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.

 
The other one is a phony message to allow users to purchase a $9.10 monthly subscription to guarantee your posts stay private – an offer that has been around since 2011.
 

Now it’s official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: £5.99 ($9.10) to keep the subscription of your status to be set to “private.” If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (I said paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste.

 
About a year ago the public heard straight from the source (Facebook) that these messages are far from true.

This is false. Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been.

 
Snopes.com also helped debunk the online rumor here.
 
Now, there is a new animal in the kingdom of hoaxes – a timely scam that made rounds this past week. The newest trick convinces users into giving up personal information while sharing ‘certain’ links with their friends in order to obtain a “dislike” button on their profiles.
 
Don’t buy into it. Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg recently announced that there will be a new button alternative to the “like”, but will not be called “dislike”.



Leave a Reply